Several campground operators, state associations and industry officials were honored last month for their promotional efforts and work on behalf of the campground sector.
The National Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds (ARVC) presented the following awards during its annual InSites 2002 Convention and Expo in Memphis, Tenn.:
• Brochure of the Year: Garden of the Gods Campground, Colorado Springs, Colo.
• Direct Mail Promotion of the Year: BethPage Camp Resort, Urbana, Va.
• Website of the Year: Voyager RV Resort, Tucson, Ariz.
• Small Park of the Year: Elk Creek RV Resort, Elk City, Okla.
• Medium Park of the Year: Orangeland RV Resort, Orange, Calif.
• Large Park of the Year: Fiesta RV Resort, Mesa, Ariz.
• Mega Park of the Year: Ocean Lake Family Campground, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
• Small State Association Directory of the Year: Louisiana Campground Owners Association.
• Medium State Association Directory of the Year: North Carolina Association of RV Parks & Campgrounds.
• Large State Association Directory of the Year: Pennsylvania Campground Owners Association.
• Largest Percentage Increase in Association Membership: Georgia ARVC, which saw its membership grow 47% to 47 parks.
• Largest Numeric Increase in Association Membership: Florida ARVC, whose membership grew to 357 from 315.
• Stan Martin Award: Randy Packard, for his volunteerism in the campground arena.
• Pioneer Award: David Hodgin of Pathfinder Consulting and a founder of the California Travel Parks Association.
• Special Tourism Industry Award: Presented to the Oklahoma Department of Tourism on behalf of Oklahoma ARVC.
Also recognized were:
• Mark Turner, Outdoor World, Bushkill, Pa., for his work updating ARVC’s bylaws.
• Kathy Palmeri, for her work restructuring ARVC’s committees.
• Jim Rowley, for his work as chairman of ARVC’s government relations committee.
• Allen Beavers, for his continuing work in support of the industry and diplomacy.
• Erv Banes, for his service and leandership on behalf of the National Foundation for RVing and Camping.
• Ed Van Der Molen, for his volunteer work with ARVC’s 20 Groups.