A number of issues affecting members of the California Travel Parks Association were addressed at its Western Regional Conference and outgoing CTPA founders and executives Tug and Judy Miller were honored at the event, held Feb. 23-25 in Portland, Ore.
The Millers will be retiring this summer after serving as co-executive directors of CTPA for the past 23 years.
In her keynote address, Linda Profaizer, president of the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC), said the campground business appears to be having a stronger start in 2004 than last year, when the country was preparing to go to war with Iraq.
She noted that RV shows across the country have been seeing record attendance levels, which bodes well for the campground sector.
Profaizer outlined ARVC’s efforts to improve its services, including the completion of an intensive series of meetings involving 37 campground and RV park operators from across the country. The committee established four key goals for ARVC to implement over the next three to five years that will redefine ARVC’s role and help strengthen the industry.
Profaizer also provided updates on a number of other topics, including the Woodall’s-ARVC National Occupancy Survey, which began in March.
“With enough participation, we could provide information on a zip-code basis so that you can know how your park stacks up against others in your state, region or nationally,” Profaizer said of the online survey, spearheaded by Michigan State University.
On a negative note, Profaizer alerted campground owners to the fact that campground operator contributions to the Go Camping America campaign, which help support the Go RVing Coalition’s national advertising campaign as well as ARVC’s own public relations program, are falling short of expectations.
CTPA installed its officers for 2004 and presented numerous awards to campground operators during the conference. Among those receiving awards was Bob Ludwig of Bakersfield Palms RV Park, Bakersfield, Calif. He received CTPA’s most prestigious honor, the Stan Martin Award, for his years of service to CTPA.
New 2004 officers are president, Mike Nichols, Trinity Lakes Resort at Pinewood Cove, Trinity Center, Calif.; first vice president Craig Lundborg, Lundborg Landing, Bethel Island, Calif.; second vice president Paul Bostwick, Anaheim Resort RV Park, Anaheim, Calif.; secretary treasurer Gerry Wendel, Benbow Valley RV Resort, Garberville, Calif.; and past president Charles Amian, Pismo Coast Village RV Resort, Pismo Beach, Calif.