logo2The RV/MH Heritage Foundation Inc. will hold its 2009 induction ceremony Monday (Aug. 3) at the RV/MH Hall of Fame in Elkhart, Ind.

The event starts with a social hour at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. A crowd of more than 400 is registered for the event. Tickets are still available and can be reserved by calling the Hall of Fame at (800) 378-8694.

Foundation Chairman Lon Larson, San Diego, will be the master of ceremonies for the event.

The Hall of Fame Golf Classic will be held starting at 8 a.m. that day at the Christiana Creek Country Club in Elkhart.

Those to be honored as selected by the RV/MH Heritage Foundation Inc. board are:
RV Inductees

  •  Richard A. “Dick” Baidas (deceased), General RV Center, Wixom, Mich.: Baidas was a long-time industry promoter and board member of the Michigan MH and RV associations. He was a principal in the founding of 10 different RV and MH manufacturers and built his RV dealership into the largest in the country at one time.
  •  Susan Bray, Good Sam Club, Ventura, Calif: Bray is a 30-year leader of the RV industry’s largest consumer organization. She has served for 25 years on the board of the American Recreation Coalition (ARC) and on the advisory board for the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Scenic Byways program. Bray has been a valued collaborator with the Recreation Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) legal affairs staff and was a key promoter of the “Take Pride in America” program to increase volunteer service on public lands that has been adopted by the Department of the Interior.
  •  Hal Fowler, DTI RV Appliance Parts, Middlebury, Ind: Fowler built what is now the largest distribution center in the country for supplying repair parts to RV dealers and repair facilities. He has served as a board member of the Warehouse Distributors Association (WDA) and is an active member of Recreation Vehicle Dealers Association (RVDA). He is recognized for his maintenance of a huge inventory of parts for obsolete RV appliances and other parts.
  •  Tim Dewitt, Michigan MHA, Okemos Mich.: As a 30-year executive director of Michigan Manufactured Housing Association (MHA), DeWitt is recognized by his peers and his members as a dynamic spokesperson for the MH and RV industries and a leader in developing positive promotions for both.
  •  David Garvin, Camping World, Bowling Green, Ky.: Garvin built the world’s largest RV supply and service business while also owning and operating a high-profile RV park. He revolutionized the marketing of RV aftermarket products and services with customer satisfaction as the cornerstone.
  •  Peter Leigl, Forest River Inc., Elkhart, Ind.: Liegl is a long-time industry executive developing several companies. He built Forest River into the nation’s largest towable RV manufacturer. Liegl is most recognized for building his company into one of the industry’s largest and selling it to Warren Buffett, bringing Berkshire Hathaway into the RV industry.

MH Inductees

  •  Kevin Clayton, Clayton Homes, Maryville, Tenn.: Clayton has been named MHI Industry Person of the Year three times and is the leader in what has been identified as the most dynamic team in the housing industry. He also spearheaded the sale of his company to Berkshire Hathaway, giving an enormous credibility boost to the industry.
  •  Donald F. Glisson Sr., Triad Financial Services, Jacksonville, Fla.: Glisson has brought over 250 commercial banks into serving the MH industry, and was selected as MHI Lender of the Year. He also built a small local finance institution into a highly respected national leader.
  •  Jake Hannon (deceased), AAA Mobile Homes, Tucson, Ariz.: Hannon grew his business to become Arizona’s No. 1 housing retailer, and established an early customer service program. He developed a popular market research program for housing retailers, and developed 11 sales centers with annual sales of $52 million. He was twice elected MHI national retailer of the year.
  •  Kristian Jensen Jr., Jensen’s Inc., Old Saybrook, Conn.: Jensen is a respected member of the MHI board and chairman of MHI Communities Council, Northeast MHA, New England MHA and all state associations where he has communities, including New Hampshire, Connecticut, New Jersey, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. He was the 2000 National Community Operator of the Year and has received recognition for the best land-lease community in the nation in both the over-150 sites, and under-150 sites classes.

The RV/MH Hall of Fame was founded in 1972 and has inducted over 300 pioneers and key leaders of the industry through its 37 years. Honorees are selected for their exemplary contributions to the growth and development of the greater industry and not primarily for their personal success.