Dave Humphreys

David J. (Dave) Humphreys, former president of the Recreation Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA), will be the featured speaker at the 2012 RV/MH Hall of Fame induction dinner in Elkhart, Ind., on Aug. 6, according to Darryl Searer, president, RV/MH Heritage Foundation.

“We are honored to have Dave, who was inducted into the RV/MH Hall of Fame in 1997, as our keynote speaker,” Searer said in a press release. “He not only helped guide the RV industry through its many ups and downs during the past 30 years, he ably represented our industry by participating in other segments such as the American Recreation Coalition (ARC) and the Travel Industry Association (TIA). He was also a major architect of the successful GoRVing market expansion program.”

Humphreys served as president of the RVIA from January 1, 1979 until January 30, 2006, following 10 years of service as RVIA’s outside legal counsel. Since retiring from RVIA, Humphreys has been practicing law and acting as a consultant to various organizations including RVIA.

During his presidency, Humphreys was the leading spokesman for the RV industry. He has been active for many years with TIA, the umbrella organization for all segments of the travel and tourism industry. He has been a member of TIA’s board and was its national chairman from 1990 to 1991. In addition, he has served as a member of the voard of the American Highway Users Alliance (formerly Highway Users Federation). In 1981, he was awarded the RVIA’s National Legislative Award and again in 1997.

Festivities begin with a cocktail reception at 5 p.m. followed by a gala dinner and induction ceremony. During the cocktail reception, attendees will be able to tour the Hall’s many attractions including the antique unit collection in the museum, library and the GoRVing Hall.

Those being inducted in the Class of 2012 include: Michael R. Evans, Centennial Homes; Doug Gorman, Home-Mart; Nelson and Mary Emily Jackson (deceased), Ocean Lakes Family RV Park; Edith Lane (deceased), Loaners on Wheels; Gerald Meuret, Housing Mart of Wausau; Bob Olsen, Winnebago Industries Inc.; Stanley Sunshine, Stag-Parkway Inc.; Ellwood A. Titcomb (deceased), Americorp; Perry Yoder (deceased), L&W Engineering; Mary Irene Younkin, Greenlawn Companies.

In addition to the induction ceremony, the Hall’s 2012 Golf Classic fundraiser will start at 7 a.m. with a full breakfast followed by a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. This year, the golf classic will be hosted by The Bent Oak Golf Club in Elkhart and all participants will receive a free golf club.

To sign up online for both the induction dinner and golf tournament visit http://www.rvmhhalloffame.org.