Recreation Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) President Dave Humphreys will retire early in 2006 and the RVIA Board decided his successor would not be allowed to replace any of the association’s six vice presidents without approval from the board’s Executive Committee, Humphreys revealed during the RVIA’s annual meeting earlier this week.
“The board is very, very happy and proud of our six vice presidents, together, they average well over 20 years each (with the RVIA) in their specialties,” Humphreys said during the gathering in Lake Geneva, Wis. “We’re very fortunate to have them and the last thing we want is for them to be nervous when there’s a transition. So, the hiring and firing of vice presidents must be approved by the (RVIA Board) Executive Committee.
“We think that will give them a lot of comfort,” Humphreys added. “There’s nothing negative in this at all. Anyone who takes my job and fiddles with the vice presidents would be a fool, so this is a very wise move and I’m happy about it.”
The RVIA’s vice presidents are: Craig Kirby general counsel; Dianne Farrell, government affairs; Mary “Mike” Hutya, meetings and shows; Robert “Mac” Bryan, administration; Gary LaBella, public relations and advertising; and Bruce Hopkins, standards and education.
Humphreys also said the RVIA Board decided on Monday (Sept. 15) to have the Strategic Planning Committee “direct the presidential succession efforts.” The goal is to have Humphreys’ successor hired prior to the RVIA annual meeting in September 2005.
The strategic planning committee includes the executive committee, plus three former RVIA board chairmen. The executive committee members are: Coachmen Industries Inc. Chairman, President and CEO Claire Skinner; Winnebago Industries Inc. Chairman, President and CEO Bruce Hertzke; Onan/Cummins Power Generation RV Group Director Richard “Dick” Coon; Western Recreational Vehicles Inc. President and CEO Ron Doyle; Atwood Mobile Products Executive Vice President Carl Pfalzgraf; and Humphreys. Walt Bennett, senior vice president and CFO of Thor Industries Inc., is the executive committee’s ex officio member.
The three former RVIA board chairmen who also are on the strategic planning committee are: Airxcel Inc. President and CEO Mel Adams; Jayco Inc. Chairman and CEO Wilbur Bontrager; and Lance Camper Manufacturing Corp. Director of Sales and Marketing Norm Jacobson.