The formal groundbreaking ceremony for the new RV/MH Hall of Fame facility will take place Aug. 2 in Elkhart County, Ind., on the morning following the induction program for the Hall of Fame class of 2005, according to the RV/MH Heritage Foundation Inc.
Phase I of the 65,000-square-foot Hall of Fame is slated for completion in June 2006 and will include the central core of the facility, comprised of the reception area, hall of fame, recognition area, administrative offices and library, according to the foundation.
The second phase will be devoted to a virtual hall of fame and display for the manufactured housing industry; the third phase will include a conference center for conventions and industry meetings.
In addition, the Hall of Fame and museum will anchor a 1,000-acre business park that will eventually include hotels, restaurants and professional offices, according to developers.
Construction began in May on the Elkhart East Corporate Park, designed to be a center of commerce and tourism in burgeoning Elkhart County, explained Rob Letherman, vice president of development and partner with Elkhart East LLC.
Dignitaries involved with the groundbreaking ceremony will include representatives of the major donors to the project as well as Foundation board members and local community and political leaders.
The 12 inductees into the Hall of Fame will include nine RV industry executives: Jerry Greer, Greer RV; Rick Horsey, Parkview RV Center; Tony Ingram, Teton Homes; Gary Labella: RVIA; Donald Pletcher, Damon Corp; Robert Sage, Sage and Associates; B.J. Thompson; BJ Thompson Associates; Don Boles, Boles Manufacturing; and David L. Webster, Kinro.
The induction will take place at the Matterhorn Restaurant in Elkhart.