The Recreation Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) board of directors re-elected Jim Sheldon, special assistant to the chairman at Monaco RV LLC, as its chairman for fiscal 2010 during its Monday (Sept. 14) meeting held during the Pennsylvania Recreation Vehicle and Camping Association’s (PRVCA) 41st Annual Pennsylvania RV & Camping Show in Hershey, Pa. The show runs Sept. 14-20 at Hersheypark Entertainment & Resorts Complex.

Other officers elected to the executive committee included First Vice Chairman Gregg Fore of Dicor Corp., Elkhart, Ind.; Second Vice Chairman Doug Gaeddert of Forest River Inc.; Treasurer Bob Olson of Winnebago Industries Inc.; and Secretary Derald Bontrager, of Jayco Inc. Chairman Ex Officio Carl Pfalzgraf of Atwood Mobile Products, Elkhart, and RVIA President Richard Coon also serve on the executive committee. The officers’ one-year terms begin on Oct. 1.

Meanwhile, talks apparently are continuing with regard to a (re)merger of Reston, Va.-based RVIA and the Newnan, Ga.-based Recreational Park Trailer Industry Association (RPTIA), RVIA board members confide behind the scenes. But few details were available of any progress posted by these organizations in their efforts to again accommodate each other in the same trade group.

 In other actions at their meeting, the RVIA board:

  • Elected Derald Bontrager as Jayco’s representative on the board. He will stand for re-election in next year’s association elections.
  • Approved an $11.6 million budget for fiscal year 2010.
  • Voted to no longer represent Emergency Living Units (ELU). Emergency Living Units are defined in the RVIA bylaws as “a vehicle type unit primarily designed as a non-commercial, temporary shelter for emergency situations built without holding tanks to the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s procurement specifications. ELUs are mounted on wheels and designed to be towed by a motorized vehicle.”
  • Named Jeff Hanemaayer of Roadtrek Motorhome Inc., to the RVDA/RVIA Certification Governing Board.

2010 RVIA Executive Committee
In photo at right are executive committee members (seated left to right) Doug Gaeddert, second vice chairman; Jim Sheldon, chairman;  and Gregg Fore, first vice chairman; and (standing left to right) Bob Olson, treasurer; Carl Pfalzgraf, chairman ex officio; Richard Coon, RVIA president; and Derald Bontrager, secretary.