Several industry leaders were recognized during the RVIA Annual Meeting for their contributions to the association and RV industry, among them:
Art Wyatt of Dometic Corp.: The Distinguished Service to the RV Industry Award for “his many years of dedicated service on the RVIA board of directors and other committees.”
Jim Sheldon of Monaco Coach Corp.: A Special Award “in recognition of the extraordinary contributions he has made to the RV industry as a founding member of the Go RVing Coalition, the chairman of the Committee on Excellence and member of RVIA’s board and several committees.
Bob Parish of G.E. Commercial Finance: The National Service Award “for his leadership in the finance sector of the RV industry. As a 10-year member and chairman of RVIA’s Financial Services Committee, he has helped broaden and strengthen the ties between the industry and financial community.”
Brad and Amy Herzog: The Spirit of America Award “for their work in building awareness of RVing as a fun, affordable and convenient way to travel through media interviews as well as the popular travel books and Go RVing e-newsletter written by Brad.”
Family Motor Coach Association (FMCA) member Frank Brodersen: The National Legislative Award for his role in developing and implementing the “RV Friendly” sign program, now adopted in nine states. “Frank has been a leading force in the success of this effort,” states RVIA. “Working with RVIA, he has traveled the country attending conferences, lobbying state legislatures and state departments of transportation, and marketing the program to retailers.”
RV dealer Dave Altman of Altman’s Winnebago and Altman’s RV Center: The David J. Humphreys RV Industry Unity Award. “Using sheer will, tenacity and persistence, Dave has played a crucial role in uniting our industry and propelling it to new heights,” said former RVIA President Dave Humphreys in presenting the award. “He has always sought to move forward through finding common ground on tough issues understanding that unity doesn’t always mean agreeing.”
Lance Wilson of the Florida RV Trade Association (FRVTA): The National Scholastic Award, which was presented in September at FRVTA’s annual convention in Bonita Springs, Fla., for playing a key role as a member of the RV Service Training Council in the development and advancement of training initiatives, specifically the distance learning network.
Dave Diamond of Country Coach Inc.: The Distinguished Achievement in RV Standards Award, which had already been presented during RVIA Committee Week meetings in June. Diamond, according to RVIA, was honored “for the many contributions he has provided on a wide range of technical issues through his service on RVIA’s Standards Steering committee and various subcommittees.”